Target: Earnings Preview, What to Expect?
The analysts expect the company to report quarterly revenue of $19.9 billion, which is 8.1% higher than the revenue reported in Q2 2019.
avatar
Shahid is a business graduate, with a knack for writing on business and finance topics.
2020-08-18 13:10

Target (NYSE: TGT) will announce its second-quarter earnings on August 19, 2020, before the market opens. Headquartered in Minneapolis, Minnesota, the company operates more than 18,400 stores across all 50 states and employs around 360,000 people.

Its shares started the year at $126.07 and since then, have gained approximately 8% YTD till Friday, August 14, 2020, when it closed on $136.53. Over the last two years, the stock has gained about 70%, beating Walmart's 47% and Amazon’s 68% gain. The stock had earlier plummeted to $91.04 in mid-March amid the peak of coronavirus pandemic when the worldwide markets suffered from uncertainty and pessimism surrounding the pandemic and its effect on the economy and everyone's lives.

Target: Earnings Preview, What to Expect?

Revenue and EPS Estimates

The analysts expect the company to report quarterly revenue of $19.9 billion, which is 8.1% higher than the revenue reported in Q2 2019. Moreover, analysts expect it to post EPS of $1.56, which will be a decline of 14.3% from Q2 2019. In its first-quarter earnings report, the company put an earnings surprise of 46.24% in EPS and 3.03% in revenue, comprehensively beating the analysts' estimate. On average, the company has been generating 14% earnings surprise for its trailing four quarters.

Pandemic and Target's e-commerce expansion

Jump in Target's first-quarter revenue was helped by the company's aggressive focus on e-commerce activities like same-day services curbside pick up and home delivery and Shipt delivery. The company has been adding more products available for online order and curbside pick up and same-day delivery service.

The increased buying and stock-piling during the pandemic and the resultant stay-at-home orders will have positively impacted the revenue of the company, which will reflect in its second-quarter earnings report. Also, coronavirus stimulus, assistance packages, and unemployment benefits resulted in higher disposable incomes of individuals leading to higher spendings on consumers' discretionary and staples, thus further benefitting Target's topline.

The already-thin margins in the retail industry will likely be further dented amid the coronavirus pandemic. Increased expenditures on coronavirus containment, precautionary measures, and any potential decline in sales of higher-margin products might dent the profitability. In first-quarter results, its operating profitability declined to 2.4% of sales as compared to 6.4% in Q1 2019. Its second-quarter results will show how it fared in operating profitability.

Conclusion

The pandemic scenario has been helpful for the company and, as the first quarter, it will also help it in its second-quarter results as well. Also, the company's efforts with regards to boosting its online e-commerce delivery channels will uplift its revenues. Moreover, given its history of beating the analysts' and estimates and delivering earnings surprises continuously, we expect the earnings to beat the estimates once again, which will likely push the stock upwards.


Disclaimer: I have no positions in any of the stocks mentioned. I wrote this article myself, and it expresses my own opinions. I have no business relationship with any company whose stock is mentioned in this article. All information should be independently verified and should not be relied upon for purposes of transacting securities or other investments. See terms for more info.

Rate this article

positive
negative
Published On
2020-08-18 13:10

avatar
About the Author
Shahid is a business graduate, with a knack for writing on business and finance topics.


buy-coffee
You've read 1 article in the last year
..thank you for supporting us and for visiting our site. Unlike many other sites, The Dog of Wall Street is available for everyone to read. Our focus is to provide great content for free. Do you like what we are doing? Buy us a cup coffee. It is the fuel that keeps us going..

3 Final Earnings I'm Watching For the Coming Week
There are still some major companies reporting this week.
By Mike Sakuraba | 4 weeks ago

Don’t Be Caught In The Bed and Beyond Meme Stock Madness!
Meme stock valuation depends on the hype, not the stock's fundamentals.
By Precious Njoku | 1 month ago

Stocks Buffett's Berkshire Hathaway (BRKB) Sold Off This Year
This year, Warren Buffett has sold a considerable number of stocks.
By Precious Njoku | 1 month ago

BBBY Short Squeeze: Have We Learned Our Lesson Yet?
Ryan Cohen Does Not Owe Us Anything.
By Mike Sakuraba | 1 month ago

Why Electric Vehicle Stocks Have an Uphill Climb
Rivian Cancels Pre-Orders, Short Seller Bets Against Tesla.
By Mike Sakuraba | 1 month ago

3 More Earnings to Focus On Next Week
Here are actually a few major companies that will be reporting next week.
By Mike Sakuraba | 1 month ago

Why Softbank's Sale of Alibaba Stock was a Good Move
Softbank Group Corp. (OTCMKTS: SFTBY),a Japanese multinational company, has gained much reputation over the years for investing in startups and making money.
By Precious Njoku | 1 month ago